#Post2 #Recipe1 Rasagulla

Hello Guys,

Here comes my first recipe..Rasagulla 😀 . I am a person with an extra sweet tooth. We have to travel atleast 2 hours to our nearest Indian store, which forces me to cook what I crave for at home. This is how I laid my hands on this recipe and the many more to come. I promise, I will post just the ones that came out well for me 😛

rasgagula

Ingredients:

Note: My 1 cup is 240 grams/ml, 1 tablespoon -15 grams/ml, 1 teaspoon-5 grams/ ml and 1 kg  is 2.2 pounds.

Whole fat Milk – 1 litre

Lemon Juice – 2 tablespoons

Ice cubes – 1 tray

Water for Sugar syrup – 2.5 cups

Sugar – 1.5 cups

Cardamom powder – 1/4 teaspoon

Rosewater – 1/4 teaspoon

Saffron strands – few

Steps:

1. Heat up the milk in a heavy bottom pan on medium heat and keep stirring to avoid the milk getting burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan.Please make sure that you use full fat (whole) milk,else our rasagulla will not as creamy, rich and tasty as expected.

2. When the milk is about to boil, i.e., when you start seeing small bubbles appearing pour the lemon juice to it and keep stirring. Slowly you will get to see that the milk separated into clumps of milky white curds and thin, watery, yellow-colored whey.

3.Switch off the flame , add few ice cubes to this and keep it aside for 5 minutes.

4.Now strain the entire contents over a cheesecloth ( I did not have one handy , so I used one of the cotton clothes that I had with me ). Rinse the chenna in running water to remove the lemon juice flavor and hang it for 30 min to completely drain off the water content.

5. Knead the chenna very well ( I usually blend it in mixie and then knead it to make the process easier 😀 , look how lazy I am) and make tiny balls out of it.  Note that the balls are going to increase in size once it absorbs the sugar syrup, so the balls should be tiny.

6.Now mix the 2.5 cups of water and 1.5 cups sugar and bring to boil in a pressure cooker.Now add the rose syrup and cardamom powder to this and give it a mix.

If you do not have a pressure cooker, it is okay to just boil in any normal vessel. In this case , simmer in medium flame for 10 minutes with the lid.

7.Slowly drop the chenna balls one by one into the sugar syrup and close an cook till 1 whistle. Remove from fire and open once the steam is completely out.

8. Cool it completely and serve garnished with saffron strands. I did not have any at home 😦 . And I like it chilled , so I kept it in the refrigerator  for 30 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

