#Post7 #Recipe6 Chicken cutlet

Hey There, It’s chicken cutlet today.. My mom makes heavenly cutlets and I love it even better if it is beef. But this is a different recipe. I tried this for a christmas potluck at my church because my mom’s version is a bit spicy  and wasn’t sure if my American friends would like it that well. I was doubtful as it was a new recipe. But let me tell you this. I sat beside our church’s Deacon for dinner and was watching keenly what his reaction would be when he eats my cutlet..and he takes one bite and goes wow…!! 😀 I was super elated and couldn’t stop letting him know that I made it and showing off a bit ..haha..look at me! :p . Almost everyone came upto me to let me know that the cutlet turned out real well and it got over too soon..

cutlet

Ingredients:

Note: My 1 cup is 240 grams/ml, 1 tablespoon -15 grams/ml, 1 teaspoon-5 grams/ ml and 1 kg  is 2.2 pounds.

Chicken breast : 1 pound

Fresh ginger root  chopped: 2 teaspoon

Indian Garam masala : 1 teaspoon ( Take equal amounts of clove, cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg, whole pepper and cumin and powder together to make home made masala)

Black Pepper powder: 1 teaspoon

Salt: As required

Chopped Onion: 1 medium

chopped green chilli: 2 or 3

Potato, boiled and mashed : 3 small

bread crumbs: 2 cups ( I powdered/crushed whole wheat bread in blender at home)

Egg wash: 2 eggs beaten with enough salt and pepper powder.

Steps:

1.Cook the chicken breast in very little water (maybe 2 tablespoon) , pepper , salt and 1 teaspoon chopped ginger. The water content should completely get used up and the the cooked chicken pieces must be fairly dry.

2.Crush the cooked chicken in blender. A second or two in the blender will be fine. It should not become a paste , our aim is to just shred the chicken.

3.Dry roast the shredded chicken in a heavy bottom pan for 3-4 minutes to remove water content if any, keep aside.You have to keep stirring as there are chances for it to stick to the bottom of the pan, remember we are not adding oil.

4. Heat oil in the same pan, add onion,enough salt,   chopped green chilli as required, 1 teaspoon ginger chopped and saute for 3-4 minutes, switch off the flame.

5. Now mix the dry roasted chicken, the sauted onion mix, mashed potatoes and garam masala in a bowl ( U may use gloves and mix with hands itself) and make patties out of it.

6.Egg wash each of the patties and coat with bread crumbs. Deep fry(tastier)  or shallow fry in oil . Serve hot 🙂

Leave a Reply

